Oh, HELLO! It’s Cindy, nice to meet you. I’ve been in the Animal Aid pack for quite some time, but have made some really good friends and have grown a lot during my time here. I’d love to take a little time to tell you all about it:

Due to my behavioral history, multiple meetings with me are required before I will be ready to move into a new home. I am “foster-to-adopt” to ensure any adopter has Animal Aid’s support and is following through with my behavioral management plans as I get accustomed to my new home.

All of our animals are vaccinated, treated for parasites, microchipped, spayed or neutered, and cats are tested for feline immunodeficiency virus (FIV) and feline leukemia virus (FeLv). All animals receive any necessary veterinary care (dentals, etc.) until the time of adoption. 

I came into Animal Aid’s care back in April 2021 after spending some time in a shelter in a rural part of Washington where I was displaying signs of behavioral decline from shelter stress. When placing me in a foster home wasn’t alleviating my anxiety and reactivity, we went to the doctors for some answers. Turns out I had a LOT going on under the surface that was causing me pain. After a TPLO surgery for my left knee and MPL repair for my right knee, things started looking up.

As much as I enjoy time inside with a food puzzle or hanging out with my fosters, I still tend to love spending as much time outdoors as possible! I’m a big fan of chasing squirrels, so it helps tremendously that my fosters have a tall and secure fence to keep me (and the squirrels) safe. My current fosters have taught me many valuable skills that they will share with an adopter and they continue to keep up with my behavioral modification and management with the guidance of the awesome staff at Synergy Behavior Solutions and Urban Pawsibilities.

I am looking for… someone who understands the journey I have been on and all the hard work we’ve gone through to get me to a happier, more thriving state. I need a home that is going to be dedicated to following my behavioral plans, meeting my needs, and giving me all the love I deserve so I can continue to prosper. I definitely need a home with a fenced yard because outside time is my absolute favorite and I am reactive towards strangers and other dogs (though I have made amazing improvement with some fear free training!) I love to chase and go on walks with other dogs, but I can be a bit rude and annoying if the other dog isn’t interested in playing with me. I should not live full-time with another dog and should be kept under close supervision during any playtime meetings due to my history of resource guarding. After some scuffles with my foster brother, we now live in separate areas of our home. Unfortunately, due to my bite-history, I cannot be safely placed in a home with children or a home that might expect to have children in the future.

Likes: I love to play! I could really play all day, if you let me. Tug seems to be my favorite game, but fetch is also a blast! I love to romp around and chase my flirt pole, there’s definitely some kind of herding breed in me! I also really enjoy spending time with my people. I will follow you around like a shadow and love keeping a close eye on my fosters when they are working in their garden. Luckily, as much as I love my people, I’m still very good at spending time alone and have never become vocal or destructive. I’ll be full of excitement and wiggles when you come back home though! I’m a total smartie pants and bond the fastest with people who know how to work my brain! You better be ready to keep my training time fun and exciting though, otherwise, I’ll just get bored with you and go find something more fun to do.

Dislikes: While I am able to tolerate being left alone, I don’t seem to enjoy it. I’ve got some major FOMO and have been notoriously good at objecting to going back into my confined spaces when my fosters need to head out somewhere. I also don’t like to be crated. I do great with exercise pens and baby gates, but I seem to have some claustrophobia with small confinement, like crates. Animal Aid and my fosters have done a great job of helping me get over some of my car riding phobia, but it’s still not my favorite activity. I seem to be a bit nervous around big trucks and buses when I am out on walks, but am working hard on overcoming this fear. I enjoy meeting new people as long as they are accompanied by someone I trust and follow along with my special introduction instructions which sets everyone up for success! Once you give me some time and we are acclimated to one another, we are certain to be friends for life! I am not a fan of excessive pets and handling. Let me decide when it’s time for pets or cuddle time, please!

Behavior: I AM A RESOURCE GUARDER WITH A BITE HISTORY! I have nipped and bit a few folks that left some bruising and scratches. I always seem to feel real sorry about it afterwards, but it’s really important for any adopter to know about this history and it must be taken into serious consideration as we acclimate to one another in a new home. I have undergone extensive training, am taking behavioral medications, and have thorough behavioral management plans that must be strictly kept up with in order to prevent these incidents from occurring in my future home. *In addition to providing an adopter with all the resources and support needed while Cindy transitions into her new home, Animal Aid has reserved 3 in-person training sessions with Synergy Behavior Solutions in NW Portland to set Cindy and her future family up for lasting success.*

Medical: I was diagnosed with a torn cranial cruciate ligament and hip dysplasia in my left leg and medial patella luxation in my right leg. I had major surgery on both my rear legs in August 2021 to help make me more comfortable. It was a very long and hard recovery process, so it’s very important that I live with someone who is very careful about not allowing me to reinjure myself. I have enjoyed going to Urban Pawsibilities once a week for a full day with my trainer and dog friends, but I need to take it easy when I get home for the day. I am taking daily pain management medications, and will need them for the remainder of my life to help keep me comfortable.

Due to my behavioral history, multiple meetings with me are required before I will be ready to move into a new home. I am “foster-to-adopt” to ensure any adopter has Animal Aid’s support and is following through with my behavioral management plans as I get accustomed to my new home.

Approx Birthdate: 1/1/2019 Weight: 60 lbs

Pin It on Pinterest